Okay so this musical has been running for a long time in Vienna. They even decided to continue and keep it running until January. I have seen the performance three times already and I must say it is a very interesting musical, appropriate for all ages and for certain will make you laugh and cry both.

I don’t know how many of you have read the book but that was one of the classics in my childhood and I remember reading all of them within a month or something. It was so interesting that I just couldn’t leave the book. I think there are around 8 books and they are great for younger children. I certainly had quite a good time reading them.

For the older audience I would really suggest the movie “Saving Mr. Banks”. It came out a few years ago and is starring Tom Hanks, Emma Thompson and Collin Farrell so for certain it will catch you attention. It is more of a biographical movie, telling the story of the making of the movie and as well biographical part dedicated to Pamela Travers.

But back again on the musical. I haven’t seen that many musicals in my life but I think I won’t exaggerate when I say that this one is a remarkable piece. I have never seen such performance and such an amazing combination of music, acting, effects and setting. The show is very colourful, positive and certainly makes you feel like a little kid again. Prepare yourself for a very moving night because it keeps you on the edge of your seat. There are many moments when you want to sing along or just clap in the rhythmus of the music – that is for sure.

If you worry that your children won’t understand a word – don’t! The whole musical is translated into German and sung in the language. Of course they offer you the option of looking at the English subtitles on the screen. I guess they did it mainly because of the younger children who still cannot read but for someone like me, who grew up with the English version it was a little bit disappointing. I really expected to hear the familiar words but I guess that is how they roll in Vienna (same situation with the “Mamma Mia” musical).

All in all I feel very satisfied with the musical as a whole. It is suitable for all ages, brings a great mood and I am sure that at least one of the songs will be stuck in your head for the next week. Mine was “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” –yes, just try to say it out loud, I dare you.

Leave a Reply

