We have all been there. Thinking that you have way too much to do to handle it and not being able to wrap your mind around how all of that is going to work out. Well, let me tell you, I’ve been in this situation quite often and every time I tend to panic and trying to find a way out of the situation. After having to deal with tons of stress in terms of moving not only house but countries, having numerous assignments, papers and exams at the end of the semester and juggling with a job, you can imagine how stressful life can get. Now, with the beginning of the new semester, school year or just adjusting to the back-at-work time after the holidays we have to get back on track with everything quite fast. So here are a few tips I’ve been putting into practice to make my life easier in such times.

20170925_143915-01.jpeg

  1. Plan

That is maybe one of the best tips I have to give you and that is why it is my number one. While I was still in high school I tended to use a planner, but it was rather chaotic and I never quite finished it. I was always hyped about writing my schedule, but soon after the first couple of weeks have passed I left it aside. Now, since I’ve been living the “adult” life with a lot of responsibilities and things occupying my mind,  I like to have everything neatly planned and scheduled. This actually helps with staying organized and not forgetting things.

2. Make lists

Planning and making lists for me are two different things. For example, when there are too many things to be done, but not in a particular time slot, I love writing down everything that I have to do. It works somehow as a “brain dump” because if you constantly have all those more or less important things on your mind, you just cannot focus on the thing you are doing at the moment. After you have finished something, you can just scratch it or tick it off your list and the feeling of seeing all of those tasks done is soo satisfying. Plus, it is extremely motivating when you see how good you are doing with all of your chores.

3. Prioritize

Making lists does not cut it. You should also have your priorities straight. When having too many things to handle, you should have your focus on the things that are more important or that need to be handled early than others. I find this always helps when I have a list of ten or twenty things that need to be done, but I just don’t know where to start from.

4. Take your mind off of things

If you are dealing with a lot, find time to wind off. Constantly thinking about what you have to do and when you will do it, can be more stressful than the things you have to actually do. I can assure you that thirty minutes of meditation, watching a YouTube video, going for a walk or talking with a friend on the phone can be more rewarding than you think. It helps to clear your mind and after you take your time to distract yourself, you can be more focused and concentrated on your priorities.

Leave a Reply

