Okay honestly, I didn’t know how to translate this into English/ German in order to be as close as possible to the original meaning so I went for “Kipferl”. Basically, those tiny, white-dough yeast rolls, filled with cheese have been my favorite snack for as long as I can remember. I still go back to my memories when my granny used to bake them for me and my cousins for an afternoon snack to grab and go out to play. I am a big fan of baking, but until now it never occurred to me to make them myself. They turned out great so I decided to share the recipe with you.

20170929_164957.png

Ingredients:

300 ml warm milk

1 cube yeast

2 tbsp sugar

600 gr white flower

3 eggs

4 tbsp flower oil

1 tsp salt

600 gr white cheese (Feta or another one)

To begin with, you will need to activate your yeast. Warm up the milk up to 30°C degrees and mix the sugar with 2 tbsp of flour. After those are well combined, crumble the yeast into the mixture and wait for it to be activated. You can cover the mixture with a towel, then wait for 10 minutes in order for the yeast to bubble up and grow in volume. Meanwhile, you can start making the dough by mixing your flower with 2 eggs, the salt, oil and when the yeast is ready, pour it in.  Mix until you form a soft dough.

After that, you would want to roll it out in a thin layer and cut it in the form of a circle. Then cut it into pieces just as you would cut a cake. After that, put the crumbled cheese in the one bigger end and roll it into the center. Then you would put your rolls in the baking tray either on a baking sheet or you have to have oiled your surface beforehand. Then beat the egg and use it to brush the rolls. Then bake at 200°C until golden, use a toothpick to check if the dough has baked on the inside as well.

Leave a Reply

