In the few days before the lectures at my department start, I decided to indulge in a more of a cultural program. The beginning of October here is always marked with the Lange Nacht der Museen, however, this year the Vienna Design Week is also taking place and it is all over the city. More than seventy venues are taking place in this amazing project so make sure to take a look at some of those during the weekend.

DSC03524

Due to time management issues, I managed to see only three of those locations: Rado, Swarovski, and J. & L. Lobmeyr, however, I spent so much time in the last two that it was a feast for the soul and eyes. Some of the places we have visited offered booklets with the program and also maps with all of the locations, which you can see here so if you feel a bit out of the loop, you can plan accordingly with what is near you. Also, I should mention that there are quite a lot of things to be visited not only in the city center, but also in 15 and 16 Bezirk as well as in Korneuburg.

DSC03527

DSC03506

20171006_162625

Our walk around Kärntnerstrasse led us to an old favorite – Gerstner. Just as posh and chic as usual. Of course, in this beautiful café, on the second floor, you can find the two types of people typical for such places: the old Viennese ladies with Hermes bags and … the tourists. Well, let me just tell you, I think we were the exception. I just don’t know why people do not go to such places … and don’t get me wrong, I do not spend my afternoons sitting in luxurious cafés, sipping on a cup of tea for 10 euros, but from time to time I like to treat myself and splurge on silly things like that, which maybe make you feel a tiny bit better in the end of the day, a tiny bit more special. So next time you pass by Café Mozart or Gerstner, think again and maybe pop in (if they still have available seats 😀 ).

20171006_154247

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

