Back in the day when I was still in high school I heard about the book by R. J. Palacio ‘Wonder’. Since I was (and still am) I huge book worm I immediately bought the book and read it over the course of a few days. I remember how emotional I got, while reading page after page and not because it was a sad book, but because it was so heartfelt and represented in such a genuine way the feelings of that little boy.

wonder__2017___fanmade__by_mintmovi3-dbebhsj.jpg

Years have passed, but I still remembered the impact that the book has left on me. Recently I found out that a movie based on the novel is coming out, so I could not wait for more information and the trailer as well. After seeing the two minute video with Julia Roberts and Owen Wilson, I was sure I have to see the movie as soon as it comes out.

Well, the movie was released in many countries months ago, but not in Austria and it started rolling just last week. To tell you now a little bit more about the plot: the story traces the experiences of the little Auggie, who has gone through multiple surgeries after being born with a face malformation. While being home-schooled for years by his mother (Julia Roberts), the family decides that he has to go to school and be with kids his age. The movie focuses on the experiences he makes and how he is being treated in school. The film goes on to show different points of view towards the life of Auggie, including the one of his sister, her best friend and his classmates.

There are a huge number of moments in the movie that are so touching and make you think about things in life, make you think about your own family, your childhood and about life as a whole, honestly. Again, I would not say this is a sad movie per se, although the main character struggles to be accepted and we are already aware that he has been through a lot, he has a loving and caring family and he is living a very normal life, but still it is interesting to trace how people who encounter him for the first time react and treat him.

I can only recommend this movie, I saw it on the first day after the premier in Haydn cinema and I was extremely happy with the overall representation of the book, the great performance of the whole cast and the true-to-life feeling that the film leaves in you after it is over.

Source

 

Leave a comment